Background Image

Select your region

Select your language

Rob Sogard

Rob Sogard



Top results

PSIA National Team; and never having a "real job".

Date of birth





Salt Lake City, UT


Biking and Golf, being a Dad


If I can do it, you can do it


Völkl, Marker

I moved to Utah from Illinois to finish school in 1987, and teaching skiing at Snowbird seemed like the best way to pay for it. One thing led to another and 24 years later, I'm still here - and with 780" seasons like 2010-2011, it makes it hard to ever consider leaving. For me the best part about skiing is taking other people along for the ride. At a place like the Bird, that means showing people places on the mountain they have only seen in the magazines and finding the snow that makes Utah famous. And now with a 5 year old daughter, I get to start all over again - experiencing things I have started to take for granted through a fresh set of eyes.

What is your favorite ski in 2011/2012 Collection?
Gotama 186

Why do you like this ski?
The Gotama kills it off-piste; it's wide, but not super wide, the shape not only lets you surf deep snow, but you can slice through crud and chop without the bounce; handles goomers too.

What conditions do you use this ski for?
Anything over 6 inches, which is most days at the Bird

What other skis in the 2011/2012 collection do you ride?
I love the RTM for anything, it may be the easiest ski to ski ever - great teaching ski, people are going to love this ski. And I still love making turns, the Volkl Slalom is the best slalom ski out there, not just for racing, but if you like to turn it!

What bindings do you use and where do you mount them?
I use the Marker Jester - traditional mount

What DIN do you have your bindings on?
8-10 depending on what I'm doing

Favorite skier:
Latest favorite - Freddie Anderson, she's 90 years old and can still make a ski work , check her out on You Tube.

Ski hero growing up:
Ingemar Stenmark / Junior Bounous

Ideal day in the mountains:
Dumping snow; 3 inches and hour; 20 degrees, no wind

How would you describe your style?
smooth / crafty

Your biggest breakthrough in your skiing career?
moving to Utah

Favorite place to ride:

Best snow trip:
Morning drive up Little Cottonwood Canyon

What age did you start to ski?
2 or 3 I can't remember

Favorite phone App?
What's an App?

Goals and plans:
to keep doing this as long as possible